

The Council of the City of Albuquerque

December 2, 2013

WHEREAS, Commander Bonnie Montoya received her Bachelor's degree from UNM and began her distinguished career with the Albuquerque Police Department in 1993 working in Field Services and Criminal Investigations; and

WHEREAS, In 2000 Commander Bonnie Montoya was promoted to Sergeant and oversaw the Criminal Investigations division which included robbery, violent crimes, homicide, domestic violence, sex crimes, missing persons and spent time working on Operations Review under Chief Galvin; and

WHEREAS, Commander Montoya was promoted to Lieutenant in 2006 and graduated from the National FBI Academy in 2009 while simultaneously completing her Master's at UNM; and

WHEREAS, Commander Montoya's career included over 30 on-site officer-involved shooting investigations and over 500 violent crimes scenes; and

WHEREAS, Commander Montoya has served on hundreds of high profile cases including that of the 118th Street murders, the baby Angel case, the Ellen Roth Murder, the Ether Man rape investigation and helped in solving the long-standing cold case of Michael Snyder; and

WHEREAS, Bonnie Montoya was promoted to Commander in 2011 overseeing the North East Area Command, the largest of the six area commands; and

WHEREAS, Commander Montoya's experience with the Family Advocacy Center and Criminal Investigations lead her to champion the need for kid's ID kits, allowing parents to have their children's finger prints recorded to aid police recovery in the event those children are ever stolen or lost; and

WHEREAS, Commander Montoya has received countless awards from Neighborhood Associations commending her dedication to making the Albuquerque community a safer place to live; and

BE IT PROCLAIMED THAT THE COUNCIL, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE, HEREBY RECOGNIZES THE COMMITMENT OF COMMANDER BONNIE MONTOYA FOR PROTECTING AND SERVING THE CITIZENS OF ALBUQUERQUE

Ken Sanchez, Vice President District 1	Isaac Benton District 2
Klarissa J. Peña District 3	Brad Winter District 4
Dan Lewis, President District 5	Rey Garduño District 6
Diane G. Gibson District 7	Trudy E. Jones District 8
Don Harris District 9	

